Day 1: No teaching for me

Photo

For the first time ever in my career, the first day of school for me didn’t involve me teaching any classes, and this is going to be a pattern every Tuesday that I’m going to have to learn to make productive use of. Today, I made great use of this gift of time by sitting in on two of Kelly O’Shea’s physics classes, Physics! and Honors Physics.

Kelly really is a master teacher and she’s gifted at the art of pacing. She managed to take a honors physics course from ground zero to the big insights of the meaning of slope and vertical intercept on a position vs time graph in just under 90 minutes, while nudging the students to do all of the heavy lifting themselves. I have a lot to learn from her.

It was also a great chance for me to play with the iPad App Notability. I think I’ve downloaded and tried just about every iPad note taking app there is, and I’ve settled on Notability as the best. It combines all features I love—a nice handwriting/inking engine, a magnified view that lets you write in larger print in a window the bottom that gets shrunk down, all sorts of syncing, and the ability to record audio as you write. The only thing I haven’t been able to figure out how to do yet it embed the audio files into the PDFs themselves. But for $0.99—it can’t be beat!

About John Burk

The ramblings of a physics teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 1: No teaching for me

  1. I have settled on notablility too. I am putting my seating charts on it, and making a new seating chart for every day. Then adding notes in for each class. At the end of the year I should have a visual record of who was in class, what I checked for, and highlights. Now if only my seating charts would become stable…

Leave a Reply

