Day 5: nvALT and quick notes on students

NvALT

One of the things I’m trying to do this year is to be better at taking notes about my students as class progresses that I can use to record a more complete picture of my students’ learning, as well as anecdotes to include in comments and future recommendations. Problem is, I’ve never had a good way to keep student feedback—I need something quick that I can add notes to in the moment, without a bunch of clicking a searching.

Enter nvALT, a free note taking app that is super fast, filled with keyboard shortcuts and syncs via dropbox with a number of other iOS based apps so that I can take notes on the iPad, iPhone or Mac and keep them all synced together.

nvALT makes entering a note on a student as simple as typing that student’s name in the search bar. If I’ve already got a note on the student, nvALT will show that note via autocompletion, and if there isn’t a note, pressing enter after I type the name will create one. Then I’ve got a few shortcuts in TextExpander to do things like adding a date-time stamp when I type dts, and I’ve got a speedy student note taking machine.

About John Burk

The ramblings of a physics teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

