Day 10: Alarms and one great thing

I’ve been trying to make a habit of stopping class a few minutes early and asking the question “what did we learn today?” followed by “how did you learn it?” This comes at the suggestion from Eugenia Etkina, who visited last year and noted that we could do a better job with ending classes.

I’ve tried a bunch of ways of doing this—setting reminders on my phone or computer, but the only way that has worked is setting a physical alarm on my phone to go off 5 minutes before class. On the iPhone, I can set alarms for 5 minutes before each of my classes end, and turn them on and off as needed each day. It isn’t a perfect solution, but it’s made a big difference in my being able to remember this.

IMG 2547

The other great thing to happen to me today was this email from a colleague.

Clip 5

About John Burk

The ramblings of a physics teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

